Andrea Yeung, Lifestyle, Pop Culture, Review, Vancouver

I’ve got the spins

Annnnnd I’m back!

I couldn’t be happier that 2016 has arrived. 2015 was a year marked with a lot of moments of insecurity and an inability to be truly comfortable in my own skin. After (successfully – whew!) passing CPA CFE exam in the fall, I told myself that my #1 priority was to work on myself, my happiness and what I truly wanted. I started actively choosing myself and making myself a priority again, and that’s when I discovered spin.

Yes – I’m basic, but it’s never felt so good. As a part of my whole “eat, pray, love” feast in Vancouver, I needed to start working out. I used to be really active prior to hitting university and starting work, so it felt great to bask in the glow of endorphins again.

So, why spin? Like any other basic B, I had heard of SoulCycle and wanted to try something similar in Vancouver. Luckily, Cyklus was doing a promo for a month of unlimited spin for $35 (newcomers only). I signed up, went to their beginners class and fell in love! Since then, I’ve tried spin at Yyoga and Cadence cycling as well. I’m giving Method cycling a try tomorrow, so wish me luck.

For all you new spinners or hesitant couch potatoes curious about spin, here’s my breakdown on each of the studios that I’ve tried:

  • Cyklus Vancouver: Regardless of where you end up, start your journey at Cyklus’ Intro class and FTP test. It’s the best environment to learn everything you need to know about the in’s and out’s of spin: how the bike works, getting you fit for the bike and the different speeds and zones you’ll need to know during classes. Cyklus uses Keiser bikes as well, so you get to monitor your progress through the class in real-time using the bike and their “innovative” TV screens at the front of the room that broadcast your results. The downside? The entire class sees your progress, but I did find it quite motivating. They also provide you with spin shoes and a sweat towel, so it was nice not having to bring my own towel. Editorial note: you will 100% need a towel regardless of where you go. Spin = DRENCHED.

    Rob-Campbell-Cyklus-March-2015-2431

  • Yyoga Spin: I’ve seen crossover in instructors between Yyoga, Cyklus and Method so don’t think you’re getting a non-expert when you sign up for Yyoga spin. Each instructor also has a very distinct and different teaching method, so don’t think you’re getting the same routine every class. The bikes at the South Granville studio are Keiser bikes, like Cyklus, so you’ll get real-time tracking of your progress. Yyoga charges for a sweat towel, but they do allow you to just use your indoor sneakers for their bike. Overall, a great option if you want a combo of yoga and spin with your membership. Downside is that as a beginner won’t get the attention you need to get set-up or the instruction you need to develop proper form.

    Granville-04

  • Cadence Cycling: This studio was small, but it definitely felt to closest to a “SoulCycle” or “Ride Cycle Club” experience where they turn the lights (almost) off. The music is loud and a mixture between Top 40’s and EDM. The bikes are a bit different as they don’t have a monitor to track your results in real-time. In order to increase resistance, you turn a knob in full, half or quarter turns. If you’re new to spin, I would definitely recommend getting acquainted to the sport using a gym with a Keiser bike first. It allows you to understand what each resistance level actually feels like before you transition to a bike without a monitor. The gym also provides spin shoes and sweat towels, so it was a nice perk to show up to.

    OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

    I also just signed up for Classpass. If you haven’t heard of it, check it out! It’s a good alternative to the normally expensive classes at boutique gyms. They’re also doing a 2-week trial for C$19, which is good way to test it out.

    Let me know if you’re a spin newbie like me as well, and how your new experience was! Wishing you all the luck with your resolutions and workout endeavors 🙂

Standard

Leave a Reply

