Andrea Yeung, Events

California Cruisin’ at VIWF 2015: Lessons from 100 Year Old Vines

I am by no means a wine connoisseur. I am not even close. I’m usually the guest that asks for the sommelier’s recommendation, feigning understanding with a “smile and nod” as he describes how “the low levels of polyphenols in the pinot leave the tannins softer than other reds.” (Disclaimer: I’ve only come to understand tannins this year.)

However, as a bit of a coming of age goal for myself, I’ve been trying to pay more attention to the finer details of wine. I can confidently describe my favorite bottle (Joie Noble Blend, 2013 vintage), distinguish between a Zinfadel and a Cab Sauv while asking for a Viognier as a pairing for my meal.

When the Vancouver International Wine Festival announced that it would be rolling back into town for the 2015 year, I jumped at the learning (and indulging) opportunity to participate. My first wine tasting happened this past Wednesday at Brix Restaurant, where they played host to 13 different Californian wineries. After “sipping, noshing and hobnobbing” my way through the night, here are the bottles I’ll be adding to my back pocket list:

RMW_13_Fume_NV

Napa Valley Fumé Blanc, 2013 by Robert Mondavi Winery 

2011 Beaulieu Vineyard George de Latour Cabernet Sauvignon copy

Georges de la Tour Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon, 2011 by Beaulieu Vineyards 

B5714

Diamond Gold Label Chardonnay, 2013 by Francis Ford Coppola Winery 

Many thanks to Heth PR for this amazing opportunity! Stay tuned for Part II of our #VIWF fun.

Standard

Leave a Reply

