Andrea Yeung, Fashion, Review

Spectacle Envy: Warby Parker Winter 2014 Preview

They say “the grass is always greener on the other side” and it’s always been true when it comes to my envy for those with specs. There’s just something about a great fitting pair of frames that gives that added oomph of character.

So when Warby Parker approached us to review their newest Winter collection, I couldn’t resist. The company’s social entrepreneurship model is one that I’ve always endorsed – buy a pair, give a pair – through which they’ve already donated over 500,000 pairs of glasses to individuals in need. Love it. Did we mention they’re also endorsed by Karlie Kloss? Win.

WARBY PARKER: WINTER 2014

Before I start raving, can I just say: I don’t even wear glasses, but if he is selling, I AM BUYING. I’m a huge sucker for guys with glasses (suitors, take note). Perhaps it’s the feigned impression of intelligence? Don’t ask me why – it just happens.

Our fav. male model in the Wilkie Eastern Bluebird Fade

Our fav. male model in the Wilkie Eastern Bluebird Fade

Back to the collection – Winter 2014 brings “icy tones and woodsy textures” personified through 23 pairs of eyeglasses and sunglasses. We’re loving the strong use of gray in cool mixtures of steel and acetate.

Vaughan Eastern Bluebird Fade

The Vaughan Eastern Bluebird Fade

The Reilly Sparrow Grey

The Reilly Sparrow Grey

The Laurel Tea Rose Fade

The Laurel Tea Rose Fade

My personal favorite tone, the tortoise, is refreshed with vintage-inspired styles and new shades. My picks? The Holcomb Pearled Tortoise and the Talbot Whiskey Tortoise.

Talbot Whiskey Tortoise

The Talbot Whiskey Tortoise

The Holcomb Pearled Tortoise

The Holcomb Pearled Tortoise

I must admit that I’m not the biggest fan of their sunnies, as I tend to prefer more overtly feminine styles. They felt more surfer than trendster. However, with a starting price point of $95, it’s hard to say no to adding another pair of frames to the repertoire. In the name of fashion – you can finally own more than 1 pair of “everyday” glasses! Because I was so inspired by my spectacle envy, here’s how you can swap and style your Warby Parker’s this winter season:

The Winter Collection is available today on Warby Parker.com. 

Standard

Leave a Reply

