Andrea Yeung, Events, Fashion, Vancouver

The Year of Flight

I celebrated my birthday a little early this year to accommodate my travelling bestie who was in dire need of a long vacation to her homeland. As the age I’m turning isn’t exactly a pivotal milestone, I decided to tone it down this year (the stories associated with last year warranted that statement) with a cute boozy brunch hosted at The Birds Nest. I had tried Chef Marika’s at the end of August when the bf and I went for brunch, after trying to get reservations for months on end. Needless to say, I booked in for my birthday before I was finished my perfectly poached egg.

IMG_4910

Marika’s apartment is amazing. It’s in a historic building from the 1920’s, and her interiors were decorated as if we were living in homes dressed solely by Pinterest. Her cooking? Just as perfect as her decor: unique, thoughtful, delicious and totally wholesome.

Clockwise from the greens: Kale salad with a unique cumin dressing, homemade fruit parfait with vegan yogurt, homemade bread, vegan scone with a delicious citrus icing, a shot of mango-orange smoothie and a quinoa potato pilaf topped with a perfectly poached egg with a pesto ailoi. Hungry yet?

Clockwise from the greens: Kale salad with a unique cumin dressing, homemade fruit parfait with vegan yogurt, homemade bread, vegan scone with a delicious citrus icing, a shot of mango-orange smoothie and a quinoa potato pilaf topped with a perfectly poached egg with a pesto ailoi. Hungry yet?

IMG_4899

IMG_4901

I was really excited for my mimosa. Can you tell?

The best part of dining at Marika’s apartment meant we could bring our own champagne and juice to make Mimosas! Yum.

IMG_4893

Situational dressing at its finest - my brunch outfit of choice. Top and necklace by J. Crew, Skirt by Modcloth.

Situational dressing at its finest – my brunch outfit of choice. Top and necklace by J. Crew, Skirt by Modcloth.

Needless to say, my sunday was pretty amazing. Hoping that things are only beginning to take flight from here on out.

Standard

Leave a Reply

