Andrea Yeung, Fashion

ModCloth Maven

Earlier this month, I decided to take a “window shopping” tour around ModCloth, a vintage-inspired clothing retailer based out of (wait for it) Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.  The best thing about the retailer is how connected its customers are as a community.  The way their product reviews were structured made it a lot easier to pick the right size for my body’s dimensions.

I’ve never taken the plunge and purchased a garment without trying it on, but I spotted a potentially knock-out dress called the Talk Show Sweetheart.  I had been looking for the perfect fire engine red peplum dress for a while, and was hoping that this would be “the one.”  The red was vibrant, the plunging neckline was conservative enough for a formal and the fitted bodice was sure to show off God-given curves in all the right places.   I opted for a medium because the site had indicated that dress runs small.  However, to my misfortune it was still not large enough.

Talk Show Sweetheart by ModCloth

Lucky for Lien though, the dress looked much better on her than on me so we decided to style it for her more petite body:

ModCloth Dress, Marciano black pumps, Forever 21 chunky necklace, vintage belt with gold buckle

There’s nothing like red, black and gold for some “Betty Boop” inspired fun.  To further emphasize Lien’s small waistline, we belted it right at the seam of the dress.  I also decided to accent the black in the belt through the necklace and the pumps.

VERDICT:  This dress is best suited for someone with curves to highlight but petite enough to fit into the top half.  Smaller shoulders look best with their awkwardly cut capsleeves.

Standard

One thought on “ModCloth Maven

  1. Great post and I love looking at Modcloth, they have a good level of customer participation and competitions on their blog too. I’m a big fan of retro and vintage inspired clothing, so it’s nice to find a place that caters for those styles. I usually shop at chicstar.com

    The dress is beautiful, it’s a shame it didn’t fit you but good that it could go to a good home and your friend looks so stylish and beautiful in the photos. I suppose in one sense it’s helpful in that now you have a better awareness of the sizes that will fit best on Modcloth for future reference.

    I agree with your verdict on the dress, as I am short and curvy but my arms are too big for that type of sleeve.

Leave a Reply

